Starnes Davis Florie

News

Coronavirus Disease 2019 (COVID-19) Update for Long-term Care Facilities and Assisted Living: Update on Monitoring Requirements

March 18, 2020

As a follow up to the notice we sent out yesterday, March 17, 2019, please note that in its Friday, 3/13/2020  guidance, CMS required SNF residents to be monitored for signs and symptoms of respiratory distress “frequently.”  CMS did not, however, define “frequently.”  In response to this, we recommended that documentation not be done by exception and that in an effort to show compliance, each facility should consider Q-8 hour monitoring checks for signs and symptoms of respiratory distress, possibly connecting those checks with med pass, and documenting the checks on MARs.

In its press conference yesterday afternoon, CDC clarified that residents should be monitored for signs and symptoms of respiratory distress at least once daily, unless a facility has a confirmed case of COVID-19, at which time the monitoring should increase to at least twice daily.  Your facility may set internal standards of monitoring more frequently than the CDC has recommended, but a facility should be deemed compliant by CMS with its monitoring guidelines if it follows these CDC recommendations. We continue to recommend documenting these monitoring checks.


Click Here to view more COVID-19 Resources

If you have any questions or need assistance understanding and implementing the federal, state, or local guidance regarding COVID-19, please contact one of our attorneys.

Reed Bates at RBates@starneslaw.com

Rick Harris at RHarris@starneslaw.com

Alicia Harrison at AHarrison@starneslaw.com

Stephen Still at SStill@starneslaw.com

Kelly Thomas at KThomas@starneslaw.com

Will Davis at WDavis@starneslaw.com

Cat Kirkland at CKirkland@starneslaw.com

Weathers Bolt at WBolt@starneslaw.com


This information is not intended to provide legal advice, and no legal or business decision should be based on its content. No representation is made that the quality of legal services to be performed is greater than the quality of legal services performed by other lawyers. Read full disclaimer.

View All News